top of page
  • Writer's pictureHelen Gaudin

The Journey Begins

Diary of an Overweight Cat

Destination Down

The Journey Begins


Today Mum took me to the vet. I didn't want to go, and I expressed myself with loud vocal complaints; in the car, in the waiting room, and I kicked up the level in the examination room with some loud and ferocious growls. The vet kept shining a light into my eyes; Mum held my paws so I couldn't swipe the light away. Which I consider being very unfair, so I had to growl louder.


The vet gave me two injections to treat the infection and then put drops into my eyes. That was disgusting. My mouth filled with saliva, and I started to foam and froth from my mouth. How could Mum let her do this to me?



Then came the dreaded moment the vet put me on the scales. I thought 8.3kg sounded good, a solid amount. Mum and the vet didn't think it was good. "Obese." intoned the vet. Then she proceeded to ask Mum about my diet. They agreed that I am not overfed but that I am inactive. The vet said I needed to get down to 5.5kg. In my opinion, that is lightweight, having a total lack of substance.


"Exercise." said the vet. As if I don't jump down off the bed and run ten steps into the kitchen, then after eating run ten steps back and leap up onto the bed. Mum implied I was a layabout. She said I stayed on the bed all day and all night. As if I didn't do any work when I was on the bed. I send my spirit to the house, sending out big vibrations to clear up negative energy. I am so busy when I am on that bed. Up until now, I didn't realise that Mum didn't appreciate what I do day and night. I will just have to show her.


My ears twitched at the mention of food. "Lean protein, good quality people beef mince, a roasted chicken, take the fat off and freeze it for the week, fish if she will eat it and a high satiety wet food. I liked the sounds I was hearing from the vet. Mum agreed. Maybe things wouldn't be so bad.


Mum dropped me off home and went back to work. I decided to show her I did not always stay in the house and lay on the bed. I was out when she came home, and I waited until she found me outside, then came in for some dinner.


Before I could have dinner, I had to chase the red dot. I think this is my future life.





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page